Engineering Pioneer Nancy Cole Celebrated at 2007 COE Honors Banquet

The College of Engineering's annual Honors Banquet, which recognizes outstanding faculty, staff and students in the college, took place Tuesday, April 10, 2007, in the University Center Ballroom on the UT campus. This year's Honors Banquet made history when the college's most prestigious recognition, the Nathan W. Dougherty Award, was given to alumnus Nancy Cole, the first woman ever to receive the award.



Dougherty Award winner Nancy Cole and her husband Leon.

Cole was the first female graduate of UT with bachelor's and master's degrees in metallurgy engineering in 1963 and 1988, respectively. After graduating, Cole worked for Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), and then moved to Chattanooga where she had a career for 17 years with Combustion Engineering. She returned to ORNL in 1991 and has managed Department of Energy programs for national laboratories, industries and universities. Among her many achievements, Cole holds three patents and is a registered Professional Engineer in the state of Tennessee.

Cole has given back to the college that provided her with so much by establishing the Leon and Nancy Cole Outstanding Teacher Award with her husband, Leon Cole. This annual award has been presented to faculty in the COE for over 20 years, and at the 2007 Honors Banquet, Dr. Paul Frymier, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, received the award.

Other faculty and staff awards included the following:

- Outstanding Support Staff Award—Kenneth Thomas, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
- Outstanding Faculty Advisor—Dr. Paul Crilly, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
- Allen & Hoshall Engineering Faculty Award—Dr. Belle Upadhyaya, Department of Nuclear Engineering
- Moses E. and Mayme Brooks Distinguished Professor Award—Dr. Benjamin Blalock, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science



The College of Engineering 2007 Research Fellows (left to right): Dr. Brian Edwards, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Dr. Baoshan Huang, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Dr. Syed Islam, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Dr. Mohamed Mahfouz, Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering; Dr. Phillip Rack, Materials Science and Engineering; Dr. Leon Tolbert, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science; Dr. Lawrence Townsend, Nuclear Engineering; and Dr. Belle Upadhyaya, Nuclear Engineering.

- Charles Edward Ferris Faculty Award—**Dr. Lee Han**, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
- Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award—Dr. Jie "Jayne"
 Wu, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
- Joint Institute for Advanced Materials Chair of Excellence in Transportation Award—Dr. Dayakar Penumadu, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
- College of Engineering 2007 Teaching Fellow Award—Dr. Lawrence Townsend, Department of Nuclear Engineering

College-wide student awards included:

- Peter Barile Sr. Design Competition Award—Ryan Bolt, Karen Genung and Kimberly Williams, graduate students, MS-MBA program
- Eastman Chemical Company Chemical Engineering Scholar—Jeffrey Clark II, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
- Tau Beta Pi Outstanding Junior—Jared Johnson, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
- Tau Beta Pi Outstanding Senior—Sarah Andrews, Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering

-Story by Amanda Womac

UT Hosts Visitors from Thailand's Kasetsart University to Encourage Joint Graduate Research

Students and faculty in the College of Engineering (COE) are getting ready for the world through a memorandum of understanding between the college and faculty of engineering at Kasetsart University (KU) in Kamphaengsaen, Thailand.

"Our initial contacts with KU were in 1980," said Dr. Robert Orr, professor in UT's Institute of Agriculture (UTIA) and coordinator of the exchange. "At that time, UTIA had a faculty strengthen-

ing grant from the U.S. Agency for International Development. Our relationship with KU developed informally over the next decade, and in 1993 the program became active with a series of faculty exchanges."

In 2006, the Dean of Faculty of Engineering at KU, Dr. Somyot Chirnamksorn, who earned his Ph.D. in agricultural sciences from UT, traveled to the States with the intent of establishing a working relationship with the COE. Subsequently, Dr. Masood Parang represented the college in a planned tour of KU in fall 2006 to develop joint academic activities in engineering.



As part of their campus tour, KU faculty and students got a look at the UT ChallengeX hybrid vehicle.

The following spring, students and faculty from KU returned to UT. During their visit, Kasetsart students and faculty toured the COE and met with Dr. Parang and other administrators to discuss joint research programs between faculty and graduate students at each university. The KU students and faculty toured laboratories at the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and also visited the Department of Mechanical, Aerospace, and Biomedical Engineering's

automotive engineering research facility. Following the visit, COE Dean Way Kuo and Dean Chirnamksorn prepared a memorandum of understanding in order to encourage the cooperation in education and academic activities between the universities.

"The MOU will help in building a program that will provide for the exchange of faculty and students and begin a process leading to joint research in the graduate programs," said Dr. Parang.

-Story by Amanda Womac